Tasteless

The Atlantic.com, a mainstream publication with the guts to publish my animal-rights pieces, specializes in cutting to the core of the issues that define modern life.  Very few contradictions make it through the site’s discerning filters. Read it.

That said, I was deeply frustrated to read the following opening paragraph about Iberico pigs:

I had never seen pigs run. Which was why, I realized, it looked so ridiculous when more than a dozen of them crested a hill, heading straight toward me at an ear-flapping porcine gallop. Before this, my experience with swine was mostly limited to watching them grunt in dusty pens on New England farms. Until I got chased down the driveway of a Spanish farm by a pack of them, I had no idea that they were natural runners—and that I should care. It turns out what makes a pig happy will make it taste that much better.

Wow. Are we so chauvinistic that we can recognize (and praise) a non-human animal’s happiness while, in the same breath, promote that animal’s death? I plan to do some serious thinking about this paradox because, frankly, it demeans humanity to allow its persistence.

Here is the full article:

http://www.theatlantic.com/life/archive/2011/08/how-animal-welfare-leads-to-better-meat-a-lesson-from-spain/244127/.

I urge you to respond to it on the Atlantic’s website.

About James McWilliams
I'm a historian and writer based in Austin, Texas. This blog is dedicated to exploring the ethics of eating animals and animal-based products.

Leave a Reply

